INICIO :
   
 
Esquina de Cumplimiento

We continue to see a pattern of noncompliance in the areas noted below. This section has been created to assist you in keeping your insurance business in compliance. The items are intended as reminders only and are not necessarily the exact text of the Estatutos de la Florida. The statute cites have been provided for your further reference.


Reporting of Actions
Every licensee is required to let us know within 30 days of a final disposition of any administration action.  This includes any action by a governmental agency in this or any other state or jurisdiction relating to the business of insurance, the sale of securities, or activity involving fraud, dishonesty, trustworthiness, or breach of fiduciary duty.  A copy of the order, consent to order, or other relevant legal documents should be directed to: Florida Department of Financial Services, Bureau of Licensing, 200 East Gaines Street, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0319.  [Section 626.536, Estatutos de la Florida]

Change of Address
Licensees are required to notify us within 60 days after a change of name, e-mail, residence address, principal business street address or mailing address.  These  changes must be completed online at Mi Perfil.  Bail bond agents and agencies have only 10 days and must file certain formularios.  [Sections 626.551 y 648.421, Estatutos de la Florida]

Public Adjuster Fraud Statement
All contracts for public adjuster services must be in writing.  The contracts also must contain the following statement: "Pursuant to s. 817.234, Florida Statutes, any person who, with the intent to injure, defraud, or deceive any insurer or insured, prepares, presents, or causes to be presented a proof of loss or estimate of cost or repair of damaged property in support of a claim under an insurance policy knowing that the proof of loss or estimate of claim or repairs contains any false, incomplete, or misleading information concerning any fact or thing material to the claim commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084, Florida Statutes."  [Section 626.8796, Estatutos de la Florida]

Adjuster Proof of Loss Statement
All proof of loss statements must prominently display the following statement: "Pursuant to s. 817.234, Florida Statutes, any person who, with the intent to injure, defraud, or deceive any insurer or insured, prepares, presents, or causes to be presented a proof of loss or estimate of cost or repair of damaged property in support of a claim under an insurance policy knowing that the proof of loss or estimate of claim or repairs contains any false, incomplete, or misleading information concerning any fact or thing material to the claim commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084, Florida Statutes." [Section 626.8797, Estatutos de la Florida]