Titular de Insurance Insights
Volumen 2, N° 6 - Agosto de 2013

Central de Educación

- Lo que debe saber acerca de su educación continua

CE Requirements for Nonresident Licensees

Nonresident licensees, except title agents, who are required to complete continuing education in Florida, may satisfy that requirement by remaining compliant with the continuing education laws of their home state. Except that adjusters whose home state is not reciprocal with Florida may satisfy the requirement by remaining compliant with the CE laws of a reciprocal state in which they are also licensed.

Nonresidents, who remain licensed and in good standing in their home state, do not need to contact the Department. We will automatically verify the status of the license and place the licensee in compliance.

In the event, we are unable to verify a valid license in good standing in a reciprocal state, we will notify the licensee via their MyProfile account and by email.

All licensees may log in to their Mi Perfil account to securely review their requirements and other records.

To review Frequently Asked Questions we receive, please visit our FAQ page.

Update on the 5-hour Update Course

The enforcement of the required 5-hour update course will begin for compliance cycles ending October 31, 2014 and later. There are few approved courses to meet this requirement currently available; however that number will continue to increase in the future.

Each licensee must complete a 5-hour course specific to their license type. When two or more licenses are held, the licensee must complete a 5-hour course specific to at least one license type held. Below you will find a list of available course authorities for the 5-hour course and how the requirement corresponds to each license type.


5-hour Course Authority

Corresponding License Type


Life, Health and Annuity
5-hour course

Life including variable annuity and health, or life and health agents. (e.g. 2-15 or 2-18)


Life and Annuity
5-hour course

Life and/or annuity agents. (e.g. 2-14 or 2-16)


5-hour course

Health agents (e.g. 2-40)


General Lines
5-hour course

General lines or personal lines agents, customer representatives, or limited customer representatives, and industrial fire and burglary agents. (e.g. 2-20, 20-44, 4-40, 4-42, 2-33)


5-hour course

Adjusters, except public adjusters. (e.g. 5-20, 6-20)


Public Adjuster
5-hour course

Public adjusters. (e.g. 3-20)


Bail Bond
5-hour course

Bail bond agents (e.g. 2-34)

Applicable compliance cycles are not yet reflecting the 5-hour course requirement on the MyProfile system. Licensees should make note that once the system has been updated all applicable compliance cycles will be updated to reflect the legal requirement.

5-hour update courses will not satisfy specifically required CE courses, such as senior suitability or hurricane mitigation, for compliance cycles that end before October 31, 2014. To verify which requirement you need to fulfill, please log on to your Mi Perfil account to see a complete list of your prior and current CE requirements.

For questions pertaining to CE requirements, please email Education@MyFloridaCFO.com.

Are You Compliant with Your CE or Not?

If you have ever felt confused about what it means to be continuing education (CE) compliant, you are not alone. That's why we're continuously finding and implementing ways to help you with this. To be CE compliant requires more than just taking CE courses. Below are a few often overlooked suggestions for remaining CE compliant.

  • CE requirements change. You should regularly review your CE status through your Mi Perfil account. Your total hours have specific allocation requirements that must be met. Be sure to take all the right categories of CE courses.
  • Check for late hours. Hours taken after your due date will still post on your compliance evaluation screen (however it will show it as late). Though your hours requirement may have been met, you're still delinquent for being late in completing your CE hours. You will then have the option of paying a $250 fine, in addition to completing any required hours within a specified time, to keep from losing your appointments.
  • Check past evaluation periods. Always check previous compliance periods to make sure you are not delinquent for a prior period. Be sure to click on VIEW ENFORCEMENT NOTICE just below the Not Compliant text to check for any outstanding fines.
  • Check your transcript. The same course cannot be taken with the same provider within a three-year period and receive credit. This will be noted on your transcript as a duplicate course. You will need to take a different course to meet your CE requirement.

We wish you success as you continue to complete your hours to remain knowledgeable in an ever-changing insurance market. And remember, your CE compliance date is your DUE date, not your DO de la agencia.

Cómo Buscar Cursos de EC Aprobados

Looking for continuing education (CE) courses to be sure you get all your hours completed? Our online course search can easily help you by listing those courses approved by the Department.

  1. Ingrese a nuestro sitio web en www.MyFloridaCFO.com/Division/Agents.
  2. Haga clic en Mi Perfil en el panel izquierdo e inicie sesión en su cuenta.
  3. Desde la bandeja de entrada de Mi Perfil, haga clic en Localizar en la parte superior izquierda. Luego haga clic en Cursos Ofrecidos Futuros.
  4. Seleccione la Autorización para el Curso para el tipo de licencia que tiene o el curso que necesita hacer.
  5. También tiene otras opciones como Método de Estudio y Ubicación para reducir los resultados de la búsqueda.
  6. Si hace clic en Realizar una Búsqueda Avanzada, accederá a opciones adicionales para reducir los resultados de su búsqueda, como Fecha del Curso y Nivel del Curso.

Because many factors may affect your continuing education requirement (e.g. licenses held, number of years licensed, etc.), we encourage you to periodically check your Mi Perfil account to determine your individual continuing education compliance requirements and status. You will also be able to find more approved CE courses after logging in to your Mi Perfil account versus the public search option, which limits the results to the first 100 course offerings.

Prelicensing Education Providers: Designation Course Certificates

The Department is soliciting help from our Prelicensing Education Providers who offer designation courses for examination exemption under Section 626.221, Estatutos de la Florida

Providers are asked to communicate with individuals who have completed designation courses and received Certificates of Completion to not send the Certificate of Completion to the Department until the individual has submitted an application for licensure to the Department.

An individual must have submitted an application for licensure to the Department in order to attach a Certificate of Completion received to an individual's pending application record.

Any questions regarding this may be sent to Education@MyFloridaCFO.com.