- Lo que debe saber acerca de su educación continua
As a licensed insurance representative, you're most likely required to complete continuing education every two years by the end of your birth month. The following licensees (resident and nonresident) are required to complete statutorily prescribed hours of continuing education courses:
The number of hours will vary based on license, experience, and education. Please log into your Mi Perfil account for additional information on specific requirements.
It's mandatory to complete your hours to maintain eligibility for active appointments; however, there are circumstances which may legitimately prevent you from completing your continuing education on time and could qualify you for a 90-day extension. The types of qualifying events are extremely limited and include:
To be approved for an extension, the qualifying event must have taken place during your compliance cycle and must be to the extent of preventing you from completing your continuing education.
If you feel you qualify, fill out and submit the Solicitud de Extensión del Período de Cumplimiento de Educación Continua (DFS-H2-460), found on our sitio Web and include supportive documentation (i.e., signed doctor's note on letterhead). Extension requests must be submitted a minimum of 30 days before the end of your compliance cycle.
If you are approved for a 90-day extension, you will receive a letter from the Department that confirms the approval and provides the deadline of the extension. If you are not approved you will receive a letter of denial. If additional information is required you will receive a letter of deficiency and your request will be closed until additional information is provided.
Formerly, active military duty would qualify someone for an extension. A 2012 law change now qualifies individuals on active duty during their compliance cycles to exempt the cycle altogether. If you are on active duty you may send an email to Education@MyFloridaCFO.com with a copy of the military orders.
If you have ever felt confused about what it means to be continuing education (CE) compliant, you are not alone. That's why we're continuously finding and implementing ways to help you with this. To be CE compliant requires more than just taking CE courses. Below are a few often overlooked suggestions for remaining CE compliant.
We wish you success as you continue to complete your hours to remain knowledgeable in an ever-changing insurance market. And remember, your CE compliance date is your DUE date, not your DO de la agencia.
Looking for continuing education (CE) courses to be sure you get all your hours completed? Our online course search can easily help you by listing those courses approved by the Department.
Because many factors may affect your continuing education requirement (e.g. licenses held, number of years licensed, etc.), we encourage you to periodically check your Mi Perfil account to determine your individual continuing education compliance requirements and status. You will also be able to find more approved CE courses after logging in to your Mi Perfil account versus the public search option, which limits the results to the first 100 course offerings.
All pre-licensing providers are required to furnish each student with the name and distributor location of the current study manual before the beginning of class.
Contact information is located on our website at www.MyFloridaCFO.com/Division/Agents under the education portion. All copies of the study manual must be purchased through the approved vendor. Education providers are not allowed to make copies of approved study manuals for distribution or sale. Violations can result in administrative fines and penalties including disapproval of the course and provider.
Each student is required to have a copy of the most current study manual before class begins. Study manuals are updated each year and are made available in November to be used for any exams taken the following year.
Requests to offer an approved course must be made by completing a course offering application through your Mi Perfil account a minimum of 30 days before the course may be presented.
Be ready to submit the following information when you are applying for an offering:
Once the application is approved you will receive an approval number, which you will also use when submitting rosters. The information listed on the offering application will be available on the website for anyone who searches for a course. A course designated as an in-house course will not be available to view.
If any of the entered information changes, you will be required to submit that change through your Mi Perfil account by applying for a new offering. On the bottom of the application you will find a field asking you if the current request is replacing an old one. Click the "Yes" box and enter the approval number of the course offering to be replaced in the field below.
Presenting a course without an approved offering application may result in administrative fine or penalty.
Any questions regarding this may be sent to Education@MyFloridaCFO.com.