- Lo que debe saber acerca de su educación continua
A clock starts ticking the moment a license is issued to a licensee by the Florida Department of Financial Services. This clock is powered by the Florida Statutes and Florida Administrative Code and it determines how long a licensee gets to keep their license. Think of the hands on a winding clock - 'big hand' as appointments for transacting insurance; 'little hand' for continuing education.
Appointments grant a licensee the ability to transact insurance, but only under the condition they maintain their knowledge in the subject area of their license. The goal of the law is to lessen the probability of an error. Without constant education, our understanding of the industry will slip as laws change and regulations are updated. Education is not only important to understanding, but vital in preserving the fidelity and integrity of the people in this industry. Let us explore some timelines:
As in the clock analogy, when the 'little hand' is activated by the issuance of a license, the deadline for completing continuing education is set. That deadline is the last day of the licensee's birth month falling at least 24 months after the date of licensure, and then every two years thereafter.
When in doubt, log in to your Mi Perfil account. It is the responsibility of each licensee to monitor their CE hours, transcript, and other Department notices.
As always send any comments or questions about CE to Education@MyFloridaCFO.com.
If you have ever felt confused about what it means to be continuing education (CE) compliant, you are not alone. That's why we are continuously finding and implementing ways to help you with this. To be CE compliant requires more than just taking CE courses. Below are a few often overlooked suggestions for remaining CE compliant.
We wish you success in completing your hours to remain knowledgeable in an ever-changing insurance market. And remember, your CE compliance date is your DUE date, not your DO de la agencia.
Looking for continuing education (CE) courses to be sure you get all your hours completed? Our online course search can easily help you by listing those courses approved by the Department.
Because many factors may affect your continuing education requirement (e.g. licenses held, number of years licensed, etc.), we encourage you to periodically check your Mi Perfil account to determine your individual continuing education compliance requirements and status. You will also be able to find more approved CE courses after logging in to your Mi Perfil account versus the public search option, which limits the results to the first 100 course offerings.
In the past, continuing education courses have sometimes been approved for more than one course authority, essentially creating duplicate courses. This typically occurred when education providers tailored course material for both agents and adjusters, essentially diversifying their student audience. Because of the differing continuing education requirements for agents and adjusters, both course authorities required approval to ensure all licensees could receive credit.
With the advent of the new continuing education requirements in October 2014, all licensees (except title insurance agents) will have the 5-hour law and ethics update course requirement, along with elective requirements. The electives category allows licensees to take nearly any approved CE course, so there will no longer be a need to make sure identical curriculum is approved for more than one authority. Along with providing added flexibility for licensees, the elective requirements will also reduce the number of course applications providers may need to submit.
The Education Team at the Florida Department of Financial Services is available to answer any questions education providers or licensees may have about this change. Send your questions to Education@MyFloridaCFO.com, and if you have not already, take a moment to familiarize yourself with the new CE requirements at: www.MyFloridaCFO.com/Division/Agents/Licensure/Education/CEReq.htm.