Continuing Education Webinars - Provider Requirements
Our investigators conduct audits of CE classes. An increasing number of classes submitted for approval are often presented as "webinars" or held in "virtual classrooms".
Providers are required to provide the Department with the appropriate link to the course for review of the application for course approval but many do not. Failure to provide the link is a violation of the Florida Insurance Code under Rule Chapter 69B-228-080, F.A.C.
Reporting of Actions Requirement Reminder
Being aware of your responsibilities is a key component of compliance. Failing to do so could adversely affect your license, your business, and your bank account. If the Department becomes aware a criminal or administrative action has not been reported, the Department could take enforcement action, which may include a monetary penalty. Examples of actions licensees are required to report include felony criminal charges/dispositions, enforcement actions issued by FINRA, the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), the Florida Bar, and other state and federal entities. Enforcement actions must be reported even if the action was the result of a consent to the action by the licensee
Responsibility for reporting actions could extend beyond the individual named in the action. Whether you want to learn more or need a refresher, read on to understand your reporting requirements in Florida.
Licensees are requerido to report any administrative action within 30 days of a final disposition of any administrative action. This includes action taken by a governmental agency in this or any other state or jurisdiction relating to the business of insurance, the sale of securities, or activity involving fraud, dishonesty, trustworthiness, or breach of fiduciary duty.
Licensees are requerido to report to the Department, in writing, within 30 days of being found guilty or pleading guilty or nolo contendere (no contest) to any felony or other crime punishable by one or more years in prison, or any violation of the state insurance laws, regardless of adjudication by the court. Reporting is required even if civil rights have been restored or an appeal is pending.
Appointing entities are also requerido by law to advise the Department within 15 days after they or their general agent, officer, or other official becomes aware that an appointee has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or has been found guilty of a felony, or other crime punishable by one or more years in prison, after being appointed. If the appointee is a bail bond agent, the appointing entity is required to report it within 5 days after receiving notice or becoming aware of the matter.
A copy of the court documents, order, consent to order or other relevant legal documents should be directed to:
Florida Department of Financial Services
Division of Agent and Agency Services
Bureau of Licensing
200 E. Gaines Street, Room 419
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0319
emailed to: AgentLicensing@MyFloridaCFO.com.
Administrative/Enforcement actions may also be reported via the NAIC's National Insurance Producers' Registry (NIPR) Attachment Warehouse.
[See ss. 626.536, 626.451(6), 626.451(4), y 648.382(4) Florida Statutes]