menú principal título de página menús destacados contenido pie de página
My Florida CFO


Manténgase Conectado

Siga al
Departamento de
Servicios Financieros

¡Suscríbase al boletín informativo del Oficial Principal de Finanzas!

Nota de Prensa

Noticias   RSS RSS   Oficina de Prensa   Archivo

State’s Fire and Emergency Service Professionals Honored by Florida’s Cabinet


TALLAHASSEE – Treasurer Tom Gallagher, who also serves as State Fire Marshal, joined Governor Jeb Bush and members of Florida's Cabinet today in honoring several fire and emergency service professionals for their outstanding efforts over the past year by offering a resolution in their honor.

Each year the Florida Cabinet recognizes individuals who are selected by various fire service associations for the outstanding service they provide.

"Firefighters and emergency service professionals put their lives on the line to protect our families, friends and neighbors," Gallagher said. "The individuals we've honored here today represent some of the state's finest."

Prior to the Cabinet meeting, Treasurer Gallagher, the Division of State Fire Marshal, and the Florida Joint Council of Fire and Emergency Services hosted a ceremony and reception on the 22nd floor of the Capitol in their honor.

The Florida fire service awards began in 1965. Nominations for the fire service awards are submitted to the Professional Firefighters Association, the Florida Fire Chiefs Association and the Florida State Firefighters Association. A list of those receiving awards is attached.

Recipients of Florida Fire Service Awards

Florida Fire Chief of the Year
Richard Knoff – Chief of Green Cove Springs Fire Department

Florida Public Information Officer of the Year
Leo Brown – Longboat Key Fire Rescue

Florida Firefighter of the Year
Captain Robert Border, Ty Lowrey, Dustin Fitch – Avon Park Fire Department

Florida Forestry Firefighter of the Year
Jeff Lodge – Florida Department of Agriculture, Division of Forestry

Florida Fire Marshal of the Year
Gary D. Jordan – Assistant Chief/Fire Marshal, North Bay Fire District

Florida Fire Inspector of the Year
Bart Wright – City of Casselberry

Florida Public Educator of the Year
Gerri Penney – Palm Beach County Fire Rescue

Florida Professional Firefighter of the Year
Michael L. Brown – Chief, Town of Davie Fire Department

Florida Fire Instructor of the Year
Lt. Craig Aberbach – Cape Coral Fire Department

Florida EMS Paramedic of the Year
Scott Tischhauser – Palm Harbor Fire Rescue

Florida EVT of the Year
Alan Johnson – City of Naples

Florida Fire Investigator of the Year
Len Johnson – State Attorney's Office – Jacksonville

Florida Volunteer Firefighter of the Year
John Hayhurst – Dover-Turkey Creek Volunteer Fire Dept.